Leading vs. Managing

I needed to hear this today.  My friend Josh Dix (from his blog, Thousand Yard Stare):

I was talking one night with my wife when she mentioned the difference between leading and managing. Something in me pinged and I knew I was about to hear something I needed to learn.  I suspected I was managing more than I was leading.  So I asked her, “What do you think the difference is.”

She began by saying, “Good managers help maintain the status quo, but a good leader inspires you to do more.  They take risks.  They understand your situation and context and lead out of that understanding.  They’re not just concerned with results but with the overall direction of what’s happening.

~ by toddbumgarner on June 2, 2010 11:28 am.

Leave a Reply

 
