Your Voluntary Termination is Final as Submitted If You Click OK

I pushed the OK button today.

Roughly twelve years ago I remember sitting in my high school guidance counselor’s office discussing what I was going to do with my life. I was seventeen years old and liked car audio systems – I didn’t have a clue what I wanted to do with my life. He asked me what I enjoyed doing and I told him I liked playing with electronic equipment and cramming oversized subwoofers into my car thereby trying to speed along noise-induced deafness.

He said if that is really what I enjoyed then I could consider a career in either being an electrical technician (and thus go to trade school in a mid-sized Nebraska town) or an electrical engineer (and go to the University of Nebraska in Lincoln). Up until that point in my life I thought engineers were simply dudes that drove trains. He explained more to me about what engineering was, looked at my math and science scores and said he thought I’d do fine in either and that it was all up to me.

Since Meghan (girlfriend at the time, now my wife) was a year older than me and living in Lincoln, I chose engineering. That’s right: I chose my career based on where my girlfriend was living. I guess that’s what seventeen year old boys do. I graduate high school, moved to Lincoln, started college at UNL, and four and half years later graduated with my B.S. in Electrical Engineering. I took a job with Boeing in St. Louis, Meghan and I got married and we moved here to start our life together. Work at Boeing was great, I basically had my dream job doing hardware design, and life was good.

Six months after moving here, I enrolled at Washington University to begin part-time work on my Masters in Electrical Engineering which was the beginning of a five-year program. Four and a half years into that five year Masters degree program, God showed up and began redirecting me in August of 2006. I had gotten saved when we moved here and starting going to church and now God was revealing to me that engineering wasn’t what he had for me to do with the rest of my life.

Confusing. And thus began a three and a half year journey to where we are today: quitting my job to plant a church in downtown Lincoln (which, in reality, we’ve been planting for over two years now).

Today I made it officially known at work. I’m resigning. Voluntary termination in the vernacular. Walking away from nine and a half years of electrical engineering education, two degrees in the field, and seven and half years of a career with Boeing.

And so this afternoon, there I was staring a little screen on my dual monitor, Intel Core 2 Duo workstation that said:

Your Voluntary Termination is Final as Submitted If You Click OK.

“OK”

~ by toddbumgarner on December 7, 2009 11:58 pm.

Leave a Reply

 
