Osteen Vs. Jesus

I’m preaching this week on the myth/half truth that God wants the best for you.  As part of my preparation, I did something I would typically never do: buy a book by Joel Osteen.  Now I have his smiley face staring at me from my desk and it is creepy.

Here’s a quote that I’ve honed in on as fodder for this Sunday:

080124_JoelOsteen_wide-horizontal

“If you will keep the right attitude, God will take care of all your disappointments, broken dreams, the hurts and pains, and He’ll add up all the trouble and sorrow that’s been inflicted on you, and He will pay you back with twice as much peace, joy, happiness, and success.”

–Joel Osteen, Your Best Life Now (New York, NY: Faith Words), p 77.

Now, contrast that with Jesus’ words to Paul in 2 Corinthians 12:7-10:

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

Jesus_Crown_Thorns_Passion

~ by toddbumgarner on June 10, 2009 6:26 am.

2 Responses to “Osteen Vs. Jesus”

  1. […] Posted on June 16, 2009 by bkingr Todd Bumgarner has posted a contrast in perspectives: “If you will keep the right attitude, God will take care of all your disappointments, broken […]

  2. Well, Osteen is right… He will: In Heaven.

Leave a Reply

 
