Long Live the Sharp 24″

Every once in a while something will come along that is worthy of a blog post both here and on our family blog. Today is one of those occasions. It is with mixed emotions that I report that our 24″ Sharp TV from 1992 has bitten the dust and been sent to pasture.  It was a good long run. I saved half of my summer money back in ’92 to buy that sucker. Never would I have guessed that 16 years later I’d still be using it.

That thing survived junior high, high school, the fraternity, several college moves, a trip from Lincoln to St. Louis, our apartment, and now 5 and a half years in our house included 3 and a half with kids.

24″ Sharp, I will miss you. You’ve been a faithful servant. May you be recycled well.

Read my wife’s article, The End of an Era to get a fuller view of this passing in our life (and a nice video of my three year-old beating the old fella to make it work!).

~ by toddbumgarner on February 23, 2009 11:47 am.

Leave a Reply

 
