An Old Prayer

A prayer of Saint Bernard of Clairvaux (1090 – 1153):sbernard_br2

“O Lord, come quickly and reign on Thy throne, for now often something rises up within me and tries to take possession of Thy throne; pride, covetousness, uncleanness, and sloth want to be my kings; and then evil speaking, anger, hatred, and the whole train of vices join with me in warring against myself and try to reign over me. I resist them, I cry out against them, and say, ‘I have no other king than Christ.’ O King of Peace, come and reign in me, for I will have no king but Thee! Amen.”

~ by toddbumgarner on November 9, 2008 6:04 am.

Leave a Reply

 
