You Stole My Jesus Fish, Didn’t You?

Have you ever wondered exactly why many Christians have a fish symbol on there car?  I always knew it was a symbol for Christianity, but I never quite knew why until this past week when I read this:

The fish was one of the earliest Christian symbols, and for that reason appears frequently in communion scenes as well as other contexts.  The significance of the fish, apart from its connection with the miraculous feeding of the multitudes, was that the Greek word for fish-ichthys-could be used as an acrostic containing the initial letters of the phrase: “Jesus Christ, Son of God, Savior.”  For this reason the fish appears, not only in representative art, but also in some of the most ancient Christian epitaphs.

–Justo Gonzalez, The Story of Christianity, Volume 1 (Peabody, MA: Prince Press), p 100.

Reading about the Jesus fish also brought back fond Seinfeld memories:

Elaine: David, I’m going to hell! The worst place in the world! With devils
and those caves and the ragged clothing! And the heat! My god, the heat! I
mean, what do you think about all that?

Puddy: Gonna be rough.

Elaine: Uh, you should be trying to save me!

Puddy: Don’t boss me! This is why you’re going to hell.

Elaine: I am not going to hell and if you think I’m going to hell, you should
care that I’m going to hell even though I am not.

Puddy: You stole my Jesus fish, didn’t you?

Elaine: Yeah, that’s right!

Elaine places her hands beside her head, index fingers raised as ‘horns’ and she
emits a gutteral growling sound.

~ by toddbumgarner on September 20, 2008 9:58 pm.

Leave a Reply

 
