Getting Things Done – Part 3

This is a long overdue, continuing post on Getting Things Done. See also Part 1 | Part 2.

Originally, I had planned to present a generic methodology for this part on preparation and planning for “getting things done”. Instead of that route, I have opted to present what I do: detailing my approach using a Moleskine notebook for keeping track of everything. In addition to simply sharing this with the world, it also allowed me an opportunity to document a consistent method for setting up my future Moleskines (ah yes, a little selfish motivation can go a long way).

I started using Moleskine notebooks a couple of years ago and have found them handy and motivating at the same time. For home/church/seminary/life/etc , I roll with the Moleskine Large Squared Notebook for multiple reasons. First off, there is something sneaky about a sleek and stylish notebook that entices me to use it more often. With respect to the Large Squared Notebook, I the love graph paper. I’m an engineer by trade and so it’s natural for me to gravitate in this direction. It makes for good consistent indenting when I want to make bulleted lists and it also provides some structured lines if I want to turn the thing sideways or just draw with straight lines. Beyond that, I also find it handy to use the grid boxes for prioritization (more on that in a later post). Call me anal – I don’t mind.

On that note, I use a single Moleskine for pretty much everything. Rather than utilizing multiple, separate notebooks – one for my task lists; one for my journal; one for a specific project, etc – I prefer to use a single notebook for pretty much everything. I will note here that “pretty much everything” includes everything except work-related stuff. I employ a similar (yet slightly modified and tailored) implementation at work using an Ampad #22-157 notebook which works great and is freely provided by my employer – it’s just a little bulkier than what I prefer for everything else.

The Setup:

Setting up a new Moleskine is the best part. The process includes the following:

  • Filling out the “In case of loss, please return to…” section inside the front cover.
  • Adding a Book # and a date range inside the front cover.
  • Numbering the Pages.
  • Creating space for a Particular Index.
  • Creating the GTD (Getting Things Done) Index.
  • Creating space for my Action Lists.
  • Creating space for my Listmania Section.
  • Creating space for for new contacts, major dates, and adding a calendar.

In Part 4, I’ll flush out the above – complete with some scans of my notebook to help detail my descriptions. In Part 5 (which I expect to be the concluding part) I’ll detail out some “Miscellanies” including a discussion on linking entries since I use a single notebook for such a wide range of stuff.

~ by toddbumgarner on August 21, 2008 6:48 am.

One Response to “Getting Things Done – Part 3”

  1. For implementing GTD you might try out this web-based application:

    http://www.gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, schedules and a calendar.
    A mobile version and iCal are available too.

    Hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

 
