Why Post Book Quotes?

One of the things I love about reading others’ blogs are catching quotes from books that other bloggers are reading. I’ve often posted quotes from stuff I’m reading here and thought I’d share some points on why I do so:

  1. It helps me to more thoroughly process what I’ve read.
    • By making notes in my books while I read regarding passages or sections that stood out to me, I am processing the book more thoroughly than I would if I would just read it.
    • By physically typing out the passages or sections that stood out to me and posting them on my blog, I process them further and really allow the author’s words to soak in.
  2. It creates a way to keep track of (in an easily searchable way) thoughts from authors that I may want to later refer to.
    • This is especially made more helpful if I include in the blog post the name of the book, the author, the publisher, publishing date, and page(s)).
    • Once all of that information is captured, I can easily refer to it later as well as properly quote and footnote it.
  3. It sparks interest in others with respect to books I’m reading.
    • In response to quotes I have posted, I’ve had others say to me, “I’m going to have to read that now.” I know how they feel.  I do this all of the time – keeping a categorized “future” reading list.
    • Sharing quotes is a simple way to further spread the wisdom of those who have come before us.  It is also a good conversation starter.
  4. It may renew interest in a book that someone has already read.
    • On a few occasions, I’ve seen others post quotations from a book that I have already read.  Often those quotes serve to renew my interest in that book and drive me towards re-reading it (or a portion of it).

All of this goes to say: post quotes on what you’re reading.  The rest of the world appreciates it.

~ by toddbumgarner on July 8, 2008 6:31 am.

Leave a Reply

 
