Wild Sweet Orange

I don’t listen to radio that often anymore.  When I do, I typically tune in to 89.1 the Wood which is the local station out of Lindenwood University.  I like this station because it is commercial-free and typically plays a lot of non-top 40 junk.

The other morning, I happened to tune-in on the way to work and caught a great song by a band called Wild Sweet Orange.  The song is called “Ten Dead Dogs” and for the life of me, I haven’t been able to get it out of my head.  After a little surfing on the web, I was able to find the song, the lyrics (which is what originally captured me) along with a video which I’ve included below.

I was also captured by the lead singer’s comments from their MySpace page regarding their music:

“It’s being honest about who we are and where we’ve come from,” Lovinggood explains. “Our generation gets a little looked down upon for asking too many questions or complaining too much, but I think we have the right to ask those questions.

“It’s hopeful and weary at the same time,” he adds. “To be aware of the situation, to understand there is a cause, is a healthy place to be.”

“It was all this really personal stuff,” Lovinggood says. “I let myself be really vulnerable so I could get all this stuff that was inside out, all that stuff you go through as a young kid, especially in the suburban, hyper-conservative South.

For whatever reason, music has really been a healthy source of relief to me lately.  Check out the video.

~ by toddbumgarner on July 5, 2008 2:54 pm.

Leave a Reply

 
