On the Music of Sufjan

The Faith and Theology Blog has an excellent post on Sufjan Stevens who has become one of my favorite artists of late (thanks to the recommendation of my buddy Aaron). The post talks about the theology that underpins his music and highlights my favorite Sufjan song, “Casimir Pulaski Day”.

I strongly suggest checking it out. If you want a sample of Sufjan’s music, give the video below a try. This is my fave, “Casmir Pulaski Day” put to some funky driving video. I don’t get the video part at all (it’s just driving), but the song comes across good (I believe it is the studio recording). If you open the Faith and Theology Blog post in another window, you can follow along with the lyrics as you listen. I recommend reading the post prior to listening if you’ve never heard the song – it helps get a deeper sense of the lyrics.

Don’t be surprised if the song evokes an emotional response. This my friends is what I call good music.

(If you like live stuff and don’t mind it a little rough around the edges, check out the same song being played live here).

(HT: Brent)

~ by toddbumgarner on June 27, 2008 12:05 pm.

Leave a Reply

 
