Notes on Notes

I have often marveled at the amount of information in the world. I love to read and typically mark up my books pretty good in the process, yet much of the information that I read ends up falling into the cracks of my brain (or out an ear) rendering it ultimately useless in the long run. I also take in tons of information from blogs, websites, newsreaders, sermons, lectures, etc. Trying to maintain any sort of organization in this realm is a tall task.

If you’re like me, you might find Derek Brown‘s posts on Note-Keeping and Organization helpful. His posts are in two parts: part 1 and part 2. Derek writes about how he uses a note card system that acts as an index into his realm of digested information. As I read his posts, I realized how desperately I need a system of my own. While I don’t necessarily like the note card idea, I may try to implement something similar using an indexed Word document.

As of now, I have a hodge-podge of separate, non-comprehensive organization systems and really need a way to combine it all into one and make it more exhaustive.  The bottom line is that I need a defined system of some sort to categorize and index the information that I take in. If any of you out there have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them.

~ by toddbumgarner on June 4, 2008 9:28 pm.

Leave a Reply

 
