Life Sounds

It seems to me that certain periods of life are marked by certain music. In college, for me, it was anything by the Dave Matthews Band or Big Head Todd and the Monsters. Meg and I moved here to St. Louis in the summer of 2002 and agree that two albums specifically mark that time and transition of our life: John Mayer’s Room for Squares and Counting Crows’ Hard Candy.

In this same thread, Meg has correctly proclaimed Bon Iver’s For Emma, Forever Ago as the album marking our current stage of life. It’s mellow, it’s curious, and it’s unique. If you’re unfamiliar with Bon Iver, I strongly encourage you to give them a free listen at their MySpace page here (try “Skinny Love” which is my favorite track from For Emma, Forever Ago). If you like what you hear, surf your way over to Amazon and support them by buying the album. You won’t be disappointed.

~ by toddbumgarner on May 15, 2008 5:25 am.

2 Responses to “Life Sounds”

  1. “It seems to me that certain periods of life are marked by certain music.”

    — I totally agree to that.

  2. […] by toddbumgarner If you haven’t checked out Bon Iver yet, shame on you. I tried to prod you here. This is hands down the best music I’ve heard in years. For whatever reason, it just tugs at […]

Leave a Reply

 
