A 2-Yr Old’s Easter

My wife asked me this past Sunday how I thought we ought to handle the topic of Easter this year with our two-year old, Iris.  To be honest, I hadn’t given it a whole lot of thought (my wife is good at convicting me like this at times).

As we talked more, we discussed sharing with her the real reason for Easter, Christ’s resurrection.  We contemplated discussing the cross, but questioned whether she was capable of getting that without freaking out or just being confused.  We talk about Jesus in our house all of the time.  We read from the Bible and she knows about Jesus and his miracles.  But what about the cross? 

For now, we landed on focusing on the resurrection, but that led me to ponder several questions:

How old is old enough to learn about the cross?  When did your parents teach you about the cross?  When did you begin communicating the the cross to your kids?  Did you?  Do you?  I realize that not all kids are the same at 2, 3, or 4 years of age, but we can also mark these things by developmental milestones (i.e. as soon as my child was able to sit still for five minutes, we began having a family devotion time).

I’m curious to hear some feedback on this one so please feel free to post some comments in return. 

~ by toddbumgarner on March 18, 2008 5:32 am.

One Response to “A 2-Yr Old’s Easter”

  1. […] Posted on March 20, 2008 11:44 am by toddbumgarner Earlier this week I put up a post titled, A 2-Yr Old’s Easter and basically asked the question: “How old is old enough to learn about the […]

Leave a Reply

 
