George Carlin on Culture

From Carlin fascinated by culture’s self-destruction (Reuters):

“I no longer see myself as a part of this species,” Carlin said in a recent telephone conversation. “To a large extent, I have dropped out for reasons of self-preservation. But I have to say it has been very freeing, allowing me to become fully engaged as an observer. I feel much happier about things now as a result. The divorce has resulted in personal growth. I believe it has also helped me to become better at my art.”

“I accept it as someone looking in from the outside that the culture is destroying itself, and as someone who is no longer part of the human race, I can be fascinated by it rather than mourn it,” he says.

~ by toddbumgarner on March 3, 2008 5:38 am.

Leave a Reply

 
