La Russa on Accountability

This ran in the Post-Dispatch yesterday (page A41):

Bryan (Burwell) asked him (La Russa) if he was bothered by his reputation as a guy who’s willing to overlook a few steroid problems.  After all, he (La Russa) still thinks Mark McGwire was clean; he wanted to bring Barry Bonds to the Cardinals and he’s got five Mitchell Report guys in his spring training camp.

“No, and I’ll tell you why not,” the skipper said.  “One way I was taught to survive is, my No. 1 accountability factor is myself.  This is my 30th year doing this at the major league level.  There isn’t anybody – the commissioner, our owner, the fans, you — there isn’t any person, man or woman, who can make me any more accountable than I am now right now because of myself.”

Concerning?

~ by toddbumgarner on March 2, 2008 6:41 am.

Leave a Reply

 
