Inside the Mind of Donald Miller – To Own a Dragon

A couple of blurbs from To Own a Dragon to serve as an example of why I will probably forever read everything that Donald Miller publishes.  The first two quotes come from Chapter 8 of this book which is titled, Making Decisions: How to Stay Out of Prison and give you a glimpse into his writing style and background.  The third comes out of Chapter 10, Sex: The Value of the Dollar in Argentina.

The thing about being irresponsible is it’s only cute till you are about twenty-two or so, then it becomes a liability.  One day you wake up under a pizza box, the television is blaring in your bedroom, the laundry piled up over what might be a bedside table, and you ask yourself, ‘How did my life get like this?  Why don’t people like me?  Didn’t I have a cat and what is that smell?’ (p112).

:

I was kind of amazed at how much of my time I had spent wondering around, not really knowing what I was doing or where I was going, only wanting random things in a random universe.  I don’t know how many months, how many years I spent sitting and watching television, complaining to myself about how boring life was. (p120).

:

“Unless you live in the suburbs and surround yourself with Christians who validate your identity, following Jesus is going to be difficult.” (p137).

Hmmm.

~ by toddbumgarner on February 15, 2008 12:31 pm.

Leave a Reply

 
